A Fall 2014 Guide to Black Women on TV

This fall you'll more than a few opportunities to see the talents of Black women on the small s...


This fall you'll more than a few opportunities to see the talents of Black women on the small screen. Black actresses are much better represented in this season's dramas than comedies, but if you're looking for a laugh, tune into Tracee Ellis Ross on ABC's "Black-ish."

Here's a calendar to help you plan you fall TV schedule!

Edwina Findley Dickerson, April Parker-Jones, and Tiffany Haddish on "If Loving You Is Wrong" airs Tuesdays at 7 p.m. on OWN***

Xosha Rocquemore on "The Mindy Project" airs Tuesdays at 9:30 p.m. on Fox


Octavia Spencer on "Red Band Society" Wednesdays at 9 p.m. on Fox***

Nilaja Sun on "Madam Secretary" premieres Sunday, Sept. 21 at 8 p.m. on CBS

Regina King on "The Big Bang Theory" premieres Monday, Sept. 22 at 8 p.m. on CBS

Jada Pinkett Smith on "Gotham" premieres Monday, Sept. 22 at 8 p.m. on Fox





Nicole Beharie, Lyndie Greenwood, and Jahnee Wallace on "Sleepy Hollow" premieres Monday, Sept. 22 at 9 p.m. on Fox***

Lorraine Toussaint on "Forever" premieres Monday, Sept. 22 at 10 p.m. on ABC

Stacie Davis on "NCIS: New Orleans" premieres Tuesday, Sept. 23 at 9 p.m. on CBS

Tamara Tunie on "Law & Order: SVU" premieres Wednesday, Sept. 24 at 9 p.m. on NBC


Tracee Ellis Ross, Yara Shahidi, Marsai Martin on "Black-ish" premieres Wednesday, Sept. 24 at 9:30 p.m. on ABC***

Tamara Taylor on "Bones" premieres Thursday, Sept. 25 at 8 p.m. on Fox

Chandra Wilson on "Grey's Anatomy" premieres Thursday, Sept. 25 at 8 p.m. on ABC


Kerry Washington on "Scandal" premieres Thursday, Sept. 25 at 9 p.m. on ABC**

Viola Davis and Aja Naomi King on "How to Get Away with Murder" premieres Thursday, Sept 25 at 10 p.m. on ABC***

Joy Bryant on "Parenthood" premieres Thursday, Sept. 25 on 10 p.m. on NBC

Sasheer Zamata on "Saturday Night Live" premieres Saturday, Sept. 27 at 11:30 p.m. on NBC

Nadej Bailey on "Resurrection" premieres Sunday, Sept. 28 at 9 p.m. on ABC

Tamala Jones and Penny Johnson on "Castle" premieres Monday, Sept. 29 at 10 p.m. on ABC

Da'Vine Joy Randolph on "Selfie" premieres Tuesday, Sept. 30 at 8 p.m. on ABC

Melanie Lieburd on "Stalker" premieres Wednesday, Oct. 1 at 10 p.m. on CBS

Lenora Crichlow on "A to Z" premieres Thursday, Oct. 2 at 9:30 p.m. on NBC

Tichina Arnold, Erica Ash, Joni Bovill, Kalilah Harris, and Yasmeen Griffin "Survivor's Remorse"
premieres Saturday, Oct. 4 at 9 p.m. on Starz

Candice Patton on "The Flash" premieres Tuesday, Oct. 7 at 8 p.m. on The CW

Angela Bassett and Gabourey Sidibe on "American Horror Story: Freak Show" premieres on Thursday, Oct. 8 at 10 p.m. on FX

Danai Gurira on "The Walking Dead" premieres Sunday, Oct. 12 at 9 p.m. on AMC

Tymberlee Hill on "Marry Me" premieres Tuesday, Oct. 14 at 9 p.m. on NBC

Diahann Carroll on "White Collar" premieres Thursday, Nov. 6 at 9 p.m. on USA

Niecy Nash on "Getting On" premieres Sunday, Nov. 9 at 10:30 p.m. on HBO


Alfre Woodard on "State of Affairs" premieres Monday, Nov. 17 at 10 p.m. on NBC***

*** denote leading actress roles


Kimberly Foster is the founder and editor of For Harriet. Email or

You Might Also Like

0 speak

Flickr Images